Mumbai Indians to face Chennai Super Kings in opening match of IPL


Dubai — Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings will be playing in the opening match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 on September 19, the organisers confirmed on Sunday.

As per details, Dubai will play host to 24 games while Abu Dhabi and Sharjah will host 20 and 12 matches, respectively.
“The dates and venues for the playoff stages will be released later,” the organisers said.
The participating teams are: Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Capitals, Kings XI Punjab, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Rajasthan Royals, and Kolkata Knight Riders.
The opening match between the finalists of the 2019 edition will be played in Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi.
The IPL 2020 will be played from September 19 to November 10 in the UAE across three venues: Dubai, Abu Dhabi, and Sharjah.
For the first time in the history of the tournament, the finals will be played on a weekday i.e. Tuesday. Both the afternoon and evening matches will be played half an hour earlier than usual this time around.
“The season will kickstart on 19th September in Abu Dhabi with a blockbuster clash between defending champions Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings,” BCCI’s Honorary Secretary Jay Shah said in a statement on Sunday.
“There will be 10 double headers… In all, 24 matches will be held in Dubai, 20 in Abu Dhabi and 12 in Sharjah.”
The venues for the playoffs and the final would be announced later, he added.
All the teams have already reached UAE to take part in the tournament and are currently undergoing training.
Chennai Super Kings (CSK) was the last team to begin training as they finally stepped on the field on Friday after their third round of Covid-19 tests.

Related Posts
1 of 94

Leave a comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More