Mumbai Indians win record 5th IPL title

The Mumbai Indians have won the final of Indian Premier League 2020, defeating Delhi Capitals by five wickets to defend its title. The final turned into a one-sided affair, shorn of excitement as the match finished with more than a over to spare.

The Mumbai Indians kept their date with destiny, successfully defending their title to make it a record five  at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Tuesday night. The Mumbai Indians previously won in 2013, 2015, 2017 and last season.

After having restricted the Delhi Capitals to a modest 156 for seven, the Mumbai Indians encountered a minor blip towards the end but went on to finish it off with eight balls to spare. Captain Rohit Sharma scored 68 runs off 50 balls with the help of five boundaries and four sixes. He completed 4,000 runs for the Mumbai Indians as well as 3,000 runs as captain.

The Mumbai Indians Captain set up three good partnerships. A 45-run opening stand with Quinton de Kock was followed by a similar stand with Suryakumar Yadav, who sacrificed his wicket after a mix-up. Ishan Kishan (33 not out) too joined the run feast adding 47 with Sharma, as the win came at the cost of five wickets.

The Delhi Capitals, making their maiden appearance in the final, were in serious trouble after opting to bat, with their top order gone early. A double strike from Trent Boult (3-30) had Delhi on the mat at 22/3. But skipper Shreyas Iyer (65 off 50) and Rishabh Pant (56 off 38) stitched together a 96-run third-wicket stand that pulled Delhi out of the woods and gave them a fighting total of 156/7.

Related Posts
1 of 583


Delhi Capitals: 156-7 in 20 overs (Rishabh Pant 56, Shreyas Iyer 65 not out, Trent Boult 3-30, Nathan Coulter-Nile 2-29) lost to Mumbai Indians: 157-5 in 18.4 overs (Rohit Sharma 68, Ishan Kishan 33 not out, Quinton de Kock 20) by 5 wickets.


Delhi Capitals: Shikhar Dhawan, Marcus Stoinis, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer (C), Shimron Hetmyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Axar Patel, Praveen Dubey, Kagiso Rabada, R Ashwin, Anrich Nortje.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (C), Quinton de Kock (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jayant Yadav, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.